Things to know about Equatorial Guinea (Guinée équatoriale)

Equatorial Guinea Flag Equatorial Guinea is formally called the Republic of Ecuador, for its part, bordered to the west by the Atlantic Ocean (Gulf of Guinea) and São Tomé et Principe, to the north by Cameroon, to the east, and to the south by Gabon. However, the country's area (28,051 sq km) is geographically fragmented, as it includes the mainland and an island.

Equatorial Guinea gained independence in 1968 after 190 years of Spanish rule. This small country, which consists of part of the mainland plus five inhabited islands, is one of the smallest islands on the African continent. The president exercises almost complete control of the political system and has discouraged the political opposition.


Spanish and French (official). In Equatorial Guinea, there are about ten ethnic groups, each of whom speaks its own language. Fangs are the dominant ethnic group in the country with at least 80% of the population. They control the mainland - and perhaps now on the island of Bioko.


The revelation and abuse of tremendous oil saves have added to critical monetary development as of late. Woods, farming, and fishing are additionally significant parts of GDP. Means development wins. In spite of the fact that pre-freedom Equatorial Guinea relied upon cocoa creation for hard money gains. Government organizations and their relatives own a large portion of the organizations. Lacking characteristic assets incorporate titanium, iron metal, manganese, uranium, and alluvial gold. Development stayed solid drove by oil.Equatorial Guinea has experienced rapid economic growth due to the discovery of large reserves of marine oil, and in the past decade, it has become the third-largest oil exporter in sub-Saharan Africa. Despite the country's unexpected economic gains from oil production which has led to a huge increase in government revenues in recent years, there have been few improvements in the living standards of the population.


In Equatorial Guinea, primary education is compulsory and free for five years for young people aged six to eleven. Secondary education, which lasts seven years, is divided into two courses, the first in four years and the second in three years. In the field of higher education, the National University of Equatorial Guinea (Universidad Nacional de Guinea Ecucialial: UNGE) has six colleges. There is a partnership between the National University of Equatorial Guinea and the Spanish National University for Distance Education (Universidad Nacional de Educación a Distancia: UNED). For its part, France provides substantial economic assistance, according to the programs of the Government of Equatorial Guinea, while it plans to integrate French as a compulsory language in schools, which may change the current hegemony of Spanish.

News Media

In Equatorial Guinea, economic life occurs in the Spanish language, even in French (increasingly), with the exception of informal (oral) communication, generally in Fang. Products made with stickers or instructions sometimes appear in Spanish, French, and English.

Spanish newspapers are El Tiempo, La Opinión, La Gaceta, El Ebano, La Verdad, and La Voz del Pueblo. There are three main radio stations in Equatorial Guinea: Radio Malabo, Radio Bata, Oz de Centro Sur, and Foz DK Nadeem. These radio stations are broadcast in Spanish, Fang, French, and English. Radio Nacional de Guinea, Ecuador, broadcasts its television programs from Malabo and Bata.